The Jack R. Anderson Prize for Scholastic Excellence

This prize is awarded annually to the U.S. or Canadian surgeon who achieves the highest combined score on the written and oral portions of the ABFPRS examination administered in Washington, D.C.

Established in 1993, the prize commemorates Jack R. Anderson, M.D., who cherished scholarship and surgical excellence and who devoted his life to ensuring that other dedicated surgeons would have access to training, the opportunity to practice, and recognition for excellence in facial plastic surgery. In 1988, he made the AAFPRS Foundation the beneficiary of the $1.5 million proceeds from a lawsuit that successfully challenged plastic surgeons’ defamatory remarks about otolaryngologists’ training in facial plastic surgery. He directed the AAFPRS Foundation to use a portion of those funds to create the fellowship examination program that the FPS FEC oversees through the ABFPRS.

Gifts to the FPS Fellowship Examination Corporation fund a monetary award and commemorative certificate for the recipient, as well as permanent citation in the ABFPRS office.

“Jack Anderson would do whatever it took to get the job done. If it meant hiring twelve Kelly girls to get a bulletin out the next day to mobilize everyone in the country, Jack would do that. If it meant ruffling a few feathers by calling people up and telling them off, he would do that, too. And he did it with a statesmanship and a style that mobilized a lot of support. There was an energy about the way he did things, a sense of excitement. He would churn the pot.”
– Robert L. Simons, M.D.

Previous Winners

1992 Frank W. Shagets, MD
1993 Brian K. Flowers, MD
1994 Lane F. Smith, MD
1994 Jeffrey S. Epstein, MD
1995 Frank J. Scaccia, MD
1996 Kevin C. Lunde, MD
1997 Leonard V. Covello, MD
1998 Brian P. Driscoll, MD
1998 J. Charles Finn, MD
1999 Robert L. Kellman, MD
2000 David M. Powell, MD
2001 Jenifer L. Henderson, MD
2002 Daniel S. Alam, MD
2002 Steven P. Davison, MD
2002 Christopher J. Lykins, MD
2003 Catherine P. Winslow, MD
2004 Chad B. Gunnlaugsson, M.D.
2005 Derek Kofi Boahene, M.D.
2006 Khalid Ansari, M.D.
2007 Kent E. Gardner, M.D.
2008 Etai Funk, M.D.
2009 Robin Lindsay, M.D.
2009 Richard Barnett, M.D.
2010 Jamil Asaria, M.D.
2011 Jaspreet Prischmann, M.D.
2012 David M. Lieberman, M.D.
2013 Jon-Paul Pepper, M.D.
2014 Jacob O. Boeckmann, M.D.
2015 Samuel Oyer, M.D.
2016 Matthew Brace, M.D.
2017 Christian A. Paquet, M.D.
2017 Jordan P. Sand, M.D.
2018 Matthew Tamplen, M.D.
2019 G. Nina Lu, M.D.

Diplomate Resources

The ABFPRS offers its diplomates a number of resources including:
  • Verifying certification
  • Framed certificates
  • Patient education flyers
  • AMA guidelines for ethical advertising
  • ABFPRS guest examiner
  • ABFPRS committee

Contact Us

115C South St. Asaph Street Alexandria, VA 22314
(703) 549-3223
(703) 549-3357